Skip to content

Edinboro captures first team trophy is school history

Port, Habat fall in finals

Video first published on on March 21, 2015.

Story is a exclusive.

ST. LOUIS – Ohio State’s Logan Stieber won his fourth national championship Saturday night, making him only the fourth wrestler in NCAA history to accomplish that feat.

Edinboro, however, made history itself.

The Fighting Scots racked up 75.5 team points, finished third in the team race and earned the first team trophy is school history at the 2015 Division I Wrestling National Championships at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis.

The third place finish, behind Ohio State and Iowa, who accumulated 102 and 84 points, respectively, is the best team finish at nationals for an Edinboro team, topping last year’s fifth place finish.

“It’s awesome,” head coach Tim Flynn said about the hardware. “It’s something that has culminated for years and years of work and these kids together. They worked. They did what was asked of them.”

Kory Mines, A.J. Schopp, Vic Avery, Mitchell Port and Dave Habat all contributed points to the team with wins at the national championships, with Port and Habat being big contributors by advancing all the way to the national championship match.

The marquee matchup of the night, voted by the fans online, was the 141 lb. final between #1 Logan Stieber of Ohio State and #2 Port.

In their matchup back on Feb. 15, Stieber got the best of Port by a 6-3 decision.

Stieber started out with an early takedown in the match and registered another as well in the period with Port squeezing in an escape in between them. Seconds after that second takedown Port fell to the mat letting out a scream of pain that sent a scare throughout the arena. Port was able to eventually get up under his own power and continue.

Port opened up scoring in the second period with an escape, but Stieber was able to get another takedown to take a 7-2 lead into the third period. The Buckeye then sealed it with three quick points in the third period on his way to an 11-5 decision.

“Logan Stieber is a four-time national champion,” Flynn said. “He is a great wrestler. You’ve got to be healthy for sure to battle him. Him twisting his kneecape there didn’t help the cause.”

Dave Habat knew Saturday night’s title match was going to be the last match of his Edinboro career, but he wanted a little extra time. The redshirt-senior faced #1 Drake Houdashelt of Missouri in the championship match at 149 lbs. to start off the final session of the championships.

Houdashelt and Habat were scoreless after the first period, before the Missouri Tiger got on the scoreboard with an escape early in the second period.  Down 1-0 midway through the third, Habat retaliated with an escape of his own to tie the match up, which is the way it remained for the remainder of the period.

Houdashelt took the victory and the national championship with a takedown less than one minute into sudden victory, to give him a 3-1 decision.

“I don’t have anything I’d take back,” Habat said afterwards. “I just feel like the whole match came down to that one mistake. What I try to do is create opportunity and I think if I would’ve done that, I could’ve won. Credit to him, he did a real good job. That was my mentality going out there. Just go out there and be your best. If you win it is amazing, if you lose it was an amazing opportunity. I am just happy to compete. A match that close, in the NCAA finals in overtime, that’s pretty darn close. I came real close to reaching my goal.”


MITCHELL PORT – 141 lbs. (#2 seed) (36-2)
First Round – won by maj. dec. over Mitchell Bengston, North Dakota State 17-4
Second Round – won by inj. def. over Jamel Hudson, Hofstra (#15 seed)
Quarterfinals – won by dec. over Anthony Ashnault, Rutgers (#7 seed) 9-4
Semifinals – won by maj. dec. over Chris Mecate, Old Dominion (#11 seed) 14-2
Finals – lost by dec. to Logan Stieber, Ohio State (#1 seed) 11-5

DAVE HABAT – 149 lbs. (#3 seed) (36-3)
First Round – won by dec. over Josh Kindig, Oklahoma State 7-0
Second Round – won by maj. dec. over Cody Ruggirello, Hofstra (#14 seed) 12-2
Quarterfinals – won by maj. dec. over Tywan Claxton, Ohio (#11 seed) 10-0
Semifinals – won by dec. over Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern (#2 seed) 3-2
Finals – lost by dec. to Drake Houdashelt, Missouri (#1 seed) 3-1 sv


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: