Skip to content

Dawkins sets new track record, wins sprint finals in Festival of Speed

Recap first posted on on June 19, 2015.

Valley Preferred Cycling Center opened up a busy weekend of World Series of Bicycling action with their UCI Festival of Speed Kickoff to Summer on Friday night in Trexlertown.

The night included wine slushies in the plaza provided by Clover Hill as well as wing fling toss game for a new grill to welcome in the changing of the seasons in T-town. On the track, the night featured plenty of sprinting and ended with the Mike Walter Madison Cup, which was presented to the winner of the 100 lap Madison, the final event of the night.

The night marked the third straight UCI night at VPCC to begin its 2015 World Series of Bicycling schedule.

However, some of the biggest news of the day happened in the morning UCI sprint time trials. Kate O’Brien of Canada, who is just in her second year of competitive cycling and set a new track record in the 200m in the opening week of the World Series of Bicycling posting a time of 11.487, bested that mark Friday morning clocking a time of 11.327, setting a new track record.

Also, a new 200m track record was set for the men as well in the morning session, twice. Suriname’s Jair Tjon En Fa set a new record posting a time of 10.269, besting Eddie Dawkins of New Zealand, the previous record holder. Dawkins stole it right back a few riders later, clocking a time of 10.237 in his time trial.

In the nightcap, Bobby Lea of the U.S. won the UCI 72 lap points race, tallying 40 points. Marcel Kalz of Germany finished second with 38 points.

Colleen Gulick took first place in the 12 lap preme race.

The night was the Festival of Speed as it was all about the sprints. Elis Ligtlee of the Netherlands won the women’s UCI sprint and Eddie Dawkins of New Zealand finished off his record-setting day by taking the men’s UCI sprint finals.

Following Dawkins’ victory, Colleen Hayduk of the U.S. won the women’s UCI 10km scratch final.

The Mike Walter Memorial 100 Lap Madison race concluded the night in T-town. The race is held annually in Mike’s honor as all 13 teams competed with Mike in mind and for the memorial trophy.

Marcel Kalz and Christian Grassman of Germany won the 2015 Mike Walter Memorial Madison Cup.

Service Electric’s broadcast of tonight will be played Saturday and Sunday at 4 p.m.

There is not much time to rest for either VPCC or the riders as they are right back at it tomorrow with another UCI night, the BRL All-Stars Family Fun Night at VPCC. The night features mostly Keirin racing.

Keirin heats were scheduled to take place at 5 p.m., leading up to the main events at 7:30 p.m., but due to tropical storm Bill, the action was moved to earlier in the day. Keirin heats begin at 1 p.m. with the evening schedule slated to commence at 4 p.m. Gates open at 3 p.m.

Additionally, members of the Marty Nothstein Bicycle Racing League presented by Red Robin, one of the more well-known community programs the VPCC has to offer, will be competing under the bright lights and will be rubbing elbows with some of the best cyclists in the world. Also, there will be plenty of games for all members of the family, including a water-balloon toss and more.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: