Skip to content

Lea sets 10 mile record as Hansen, Hoogland hoist 2015 Keirin Cup

Recap first posted on on June 26, 2015.

There weren’t any UCI events and many of the international riders left earlier in the week, but none of that mattered Friday night.

Valley Preferred Cycling Center wrapped up June with the 29th Keirin Cup Friday night, the first non-UCI night of the season, but it did not disappoint as Topton resident Bobby Lea set the new 10-mile track record in the 10-mile final, the last event of the night, winning the event in 18:12.54.

Lea’s mark bested the previous record of 18:56.71, set by Jame Carney in 1999. Lea earned a $500 bonus for breaking the record.

It was also the first PeeWee Pedalers, presented be Teva Respiratory, Exhibition Night as students from the first session of PeeWee Pedalers took a lap around the track and posed for photos alongside their coaches and pros under the bright World Series of Bicycling lights.

Keirin heats for both the men and women started the beautiful night in T-town with three heats for both men and women, witling the keirin fields down to 12 riders, respectively, for the semi-finals.

The men 30 lap points race followed the keirin heats. Christian Grasmann took first, finishing with 15 points as he just edged Lea, who took second with 14 points.

Miss-N-Outs were up next for both the men and the women. The race calls for the last rider across the finish line each lap to be eliminated from the race until three are left and then a one-lap sprint for the finish ensues. Lea pulled away for an easy victory in the men’s race and Hayduk won the women’s race.The women competed in the 15 lap tempo points race following the men’s point race. Kim Geist took first place with 20 points. Colleen Hayduk finished in second place with 12 points.

There also was a first for VPCC on Friday night as the first ever “Longest Lap” race was held. The race calls for riders to do a track-stand on turn four for three minutes, those who touch the ground or cross the finish line are eliminated, anyone who survives the three minutes of track-stands compete in a one-lap sprint to the finish line.

Jeffrey Hoogland of the Netherlands won the inaugural race. Lea finished in second place.

Stephen Hall of Australia won the 10 lap scratch, which occurred before the keirin finals, the main events of the night.

Natasha Hansen, the GU Rider of the Night, won the women’s Keirin Cup, her second time hoisting the trophy, gifting GU products for all fans in attendance as they exited the gates. Stephanie McKenzie finished in second place.

Hoogland followed up his “Longest Lap” win by winning the men’s Keirin Cup, besting Matt Baranoski, who settled for second place. Hoogland is the first male from the Netherlands to win the Keirin Cup.

Lea tallied 24 points and won the men’s omnium. Hayduk won the women’s omnium with 12 points by tiebreaker over Geist.

The Service Electric broadcast of tonight’s action will be replayed on SECTV 2 at 4 p.m. on both Saturday and Sunday.

World Series of Bicycling action returns July 10, after having next Friday off for the holiday, with the highly-anticipated Tandemonium. The night is also Honoring America Night at VPCC, where Hometown Heroes will be honored. Also, all past and present members of the Armed Services as well as all current first responders get free admission with proof of I.D. Additionally, it is Dollar Dog Night at the Breakaway Café. Gates open at 6 p.m. with action getting underway at 7:30p.m.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: