Skip to content

Geist captures 2015 Women’s Open

Recap was first posted on on June 17, 2015.

Pink is not normally a color which is abundant in cycling.

However, Valley Preferred Cycling Center was a sea of pink Friday night as it was Ladies Night in T-town, coinciding with the Keystone Cup Women’s Open, the latest event in the 2015 World Series of Bicycling season.

Photo: Rick Menapeace

A change in the schedule began the night as the men’s SuperSprint Elimination was changed to a Miss-N-Out. Jeremy Presbury took first place in the event.

Kim Geist, who returned to T-town after competing at the UCI events in Colorado, won the women’s 12 lap tempo points race, the first event of the Women’s Open on her way to capturing the title in blowout fashion, earning 24 points. Colleen Hayduk, last year’s champ, finished second in the final standings with 14 points.

Bobby Lea, also returned to T-town after a few week hiatus, earns a win in his return, tallying 15 points in the men’s 25 lap points race. Marloe Rodman of Jamaica finished second with seven points.

New Zealand’s national endurance team member Natasha Hansen won the second event of the Women’s Open, earning valuable points towards the night’s ultimate goal. Teammate Katie Schofield took second place.

Tyler Nothstein won the quick men’s 2km Scratch.

There was a familar champion in the women’s Miss-N-Out as Geist outlasted the rest of the field. Hayduk took second place.

Before the second intermission, Andrew Bernstein earned his first victory of the season, finishing first in the men’s 5 Mile Final. Zac Williams earned a second place finish.

Geist continued the dominance in the Women’s Open chase, winning the women’s 20 lap points race. Hayduk took second place.

The new fan favorite race, the Longest Lap, followed and was dominated by Matt Rotherham of Great Britain as he placed himself by the finish line for the track stand and blew the rest of the field away during the one lap sprint. Williams finished second.

Schofield won the final women’s event of the night, the 3km Motor Scratch. Hansen finished second.

Rotherham won the men’s version of the 3km Motor Scratch, finishing the night with back-to-back wins.

Williams tallied 24 points and won the men’s omnium. Rotherham finished second with 21 points.

Service Electric’s broadcast of tonight’s action will be played on Saturday at 4 p.m. and Sunday at 1 p.m.

World Series of Bicycling at VPCC continues next Friday with the U.S. 10 Mile Championships. It is also Legends Nights featuring a vintage t-shirt contest. Also, there will be a gathering of Lehigh Valley mascots to help VPCC with their grand reveal. Gates open at 6 p.m. with racing starting at 7:30 p.m.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: