Skip to content

Team Bicycling crowned 2015 Rodale Corporate Challenge champs as three records fall

Recap first posted on on Aug. 7, 2015.

The main characters of Corporate Challenge’s action are used to donning suits and carrying briefcases.

Friday night in T-town they were striding around in kits and hoisting bikes on their shoulders.

Nine teams composed of Lehigh Valley businesses took to the track Friday night in hopes of becoming the 2015 Corporate Challenge champions. When it was all said and done it was Team Bicycling hoisting the hardware and winning the 16th annual Rodale Corporate Challenge at Valley Preferred Cycling Center.

Photo: Rick Menapace

The squad bested Valley Preferred #1 in the finals to take the 2016 crown. Air Products took third with Valley Preferred #2 settling four fourth.

B.Braun, Coordinated Health, Rodale, Weyerbacher Brewing and Buckeye Partners were also competing on Friday night.

Tonight was about time with the Corporate Challenge running the Italian Pursuit heats and there were multiple track record attempts as well. New Zealand’s Katie Schofield and Natasha Hansen tried to go for the women’s team sprint track record of 46.45, but fell short, clocking a 46.60.

Three track records fell on the night as Eddie Dawkins broke his own flying 200m record of 10.237 as he clocked a 10.22, after multiple teammates failed the dethrone him before he took his turn. Following that, fellow Kiwi Hansen set a new women’s flying 1 lap track record with at time of 19.54. She bested Michelle Ferris of Austrailia’s time of 20.00, which was set back in 2000. The last one was set by Matt Archibald, who broke Executive Director’s Marty Nothstein’s standing 500m record of 32.96 as Archibald finished in 29.76. Sam Webster attempted it with him and broke the record with a time of 32.86, but was bested by Archibald.

Additionally, Simon Van Velthooven went for arguably the toughest track record, the flying 1000m, which is 1:01.35, but fell just short, as he clocked a 1:01.95.

There were a few usual races as well on tap. Van Velthooven won the men’s 3km scratch. Patrick Jones finished in second place. Schofield won the women’s 2km scratch, which followed the men’s scratch.

Dawkins celebrates after setting a new track record (Photo/Rick Menapace).

Jeremy Presbury, on his birthday, won the men’s Miss-N-Out following a few record attempts. Jones survived for second place. Following that up was young gun Monica Volk, who finished first in the women’s 10 lap Point-a-Lap, notching five points. Kacey Lloyd finished second with four points.

Hansen continued her successful night with a win in the women’s Elimination, the final women’s race of the night.

Van Velthooven won the final men’s event of the night, the 15 lap scratch race on his way to capturing the men’s omnium crown, tallying 14 points. Katie Schofield won the women’s omnium with 12 points. Mary Costelloe finished in a close second with 11 points.

UCI makes its return to T-town next week as VPCC will have its first UCI events since June 20. The night is the Golden Wheel Race and the Champions of Sprint. Additionally, it is the Dog Day of Summer presented by Working Dog Press at VPCC. Gates open at 6 p.m. with racing beginning at 7:30 p.m.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: